Villians sermon series
Category: services

Villians Sermon Series

Sep 04 2020

This six-week series describes the lives of six villains from the Bible. Through understanding their context and possible motives, we will learn how anyone can become a villain who destroys others, but we will also discover that God can redeem even the worst of villains.

6 Week Sermon Series for Sept 6 - Oct 11

Week 1 – 9/6 Text: Genesis 4:1–16 Topic: Cain allowed anger to control him, leading him to murder his brother.

Week 2 – 9/13 Text: 1 Samuel 9:1–27; 10:1–2; 13:8–14; 15:10–21 Topic: By rejecting God’s ways and doing what he thought was right, King Saul became a villain to God’s people and to David.

Week 3 – 9/20 Text: 1 Kings 21:2-3,5-10, 15-16, God’s justice—bulletin points of vv. 17-24, 25-29 Topic: Human beings are broken by sin and have the ability to become villains.

Week 4 – 9/27 Text: John 12:3–6; Matthew 26:14–25 Topic: Even though Judas walked with Christ for years, he eventually betrayed Jesus because of bitterness and greed.

Week 5 – 10/4 Text: Matthew 2:1–18 Topic: Herod the Great was a tyrannical king who tried to kill Jesus to prove his legitimacy of kingship.

Week 6 – 10/11 Text: Acts 8:1–3; 9:1–21 Topic: Saul was a murderer of Christians and was redeemed by Jesus to become Paul the apostle.

Get Involved

Through volunteering or donations, help us spread the good news about Jesus

learn more

Why Living Word

Discover how Living Word is changing lives

our impact